We have had reports of cyber criminals imitating court telephone numbers (“spoofing”) and demanding that citizens pay money for fines or fees in cases involving relatives. These calls are not valid. New Mexico Courts will never call citizens to ask for payments of any kind.

Organ Mountains

Third Judicial District Court

a

Explore Section

Compensation

Juror Payments

The Court is authorized by New Mexico Supreme Court Order No. 17-8500-018, dated August 21, 2017, to pay jury service at the rate of $7.50 per hour of service. In addition, round trip mileage from the juror’s home to the courthouse will be paid at $0.29 a mile. Mileage is computed based upon the information provided on the Juror Qualification Form and the mailing zip code. Checks will be mailed to the mailing address. Payments cannot be split between the hourly rate and mileage reimbursement. Jurors will need to verify with their employer regarding their internal jury service and payment policy. On average, reimbursement payments take 6 weeks to process. If payment is not received within 6 weeks of jury service, please contact the Jury Division. If desired, the juror may waive the hourly pay or mileage reimbursement.  Fill out the relevant section of the Juror Certification and Waiver Form at jury orientation. Jurors will not receive a W-2 or 1099 at the end of the year unless they receive over $600 in compensation for jury duty. 

Public Employees

Pursuant to the Administrative Office of the Courts’ jury guidelines, “A public employee, including a state, local government, or other state political subdivision employee, shall not be personally compensated for jury service during normal working hours. If the governmental employer requires juror compensation to be paid, the payment shall go directly to the governmental employer. The request for reimbursement must be made in writing”.